Two Birds One Stone in South Yarra (Melbourne)

The way this cafe looks is the epitome of Scandinavian cool. You could have stepped right into an Ikea catalogue here. I simply just adore the look and feel of this place: splendid blend of natural wood, warm (funky) lighting, the colour white, and a very wintry, watercolour-ey piece of abstract painting as it’s wall’s main feature. Of all the cafes that I’ve been to, if there was one where I could just sit and stare (never mind the coffee, never mind the food: gasp!), this would be it. And guess what – why am I not surprised? – Two Birds One Stone is another brainchild of the team that opened Top Paddock and The Kettle Black. So it looks like this group of people have really got a grip on Melbourne’s cafe scene pulse, and milking it for what it’s worth from what I can see! Fortunately there is no hotcake on the menu. Whilst The Kettle Black is decked up with opulence and extravagance (marble, gold, etc), Two Birds One Stone is my pick for effortless charm. If I lived in South Yarra, this would be my chill spot. Feast your eyes on this cafe’s interior:

FullSizeRender[1]

Aside from top scores all round for ambience, I wouldn’t say the coffee is anything to shout about. The thing I’ve noticed: the same problem that plagues Top Paddock and The Kettle Black similarly trips up this wonderful place. I think the only way to overcome (my perceived) weakness inherent in the coffee served here, is simply to order whatever you’re having “strong”.

FullSizeRender[5]

I was particularly excited when I saw that they served corned beef sandwiches here. The last time I had one which I remember fondly was at Mishkin’s in Covent Garden, London (disappointingly it looks like they’re closed for a relocation at the moment though). It was a no brainer for me that I had to try it here too, and it was good! Others ordered the seared rare tuna and big breakfast. The menu is varied and interesting enough to warrant repeats at this cafe. The food in general is tasty, but not quite big. So a tip would be to assess how hungry you are and navigate your order that way.

FullSizeRender[1]
The Reuben: corned beef, Swiss cheese, sauerkraut & seeded mustard mayonnaise on rye. Wonderful!
FullSizeRender[3]
Rare yellow fin tuna with potatoes, green beans, olives, tomatoes, aioli & a crispy poached egg. Delicious but won’t placate ravenous hunger.

Desserts were good too, and if you happen to be early, there are curious doughnuts with syringes in them. I thought I’d get one after my main meal but they were gone! We ended up having a Tim Tam Donut and one of the most incredibly moist, chocolatey, Ferrero Rocher cakes.

Another good find!

FullSizeRender

Two Birds One Stone
12 Claremont Street
South Yarra
Phone: +61 (3) 9827 1228

See how this cafe ranks on The Hungry Wolf’s list of Melbourne’s Best Cafes!

2 thoughts on “Two Birds One Stone in South Yarra (Melbourne)

Leave a Reply

